ORNITHOLOGICAL NEWS

The full account of the 1972 Annual Meeting appears elsewhere in this issue but it is appropriate that we offer further congratulations here to Frances James for winning the Edwards prize for the best paper published in *The Bulletin* in 1971, and to Anthony Erskine as runner up for this prize, as well as to W. John Richardson for winning the Alexander Wilson Prize for the best paper presented by a student or non-professional at an Annual Meeting.

It has been called to the Editor's attention that many people are unfamiliar with the Edwards prize. Through the generosity of Ernest P. Edwards, the Society is in the position to award a prize of \$150 to the author of the best paper appearing in *The Bulletin* in a given year, and a prize of \$50 for the second best paper. The papers are judged by a committee of three on the basis of both the caliber of the work presented and the quality of the presentation.

The Council of Biological Editors has recently published the third edition of the "CBE Style Manual", available from the American Institute for Biological Sciences, 3900 Wisconsin Avenue NW, Washington, D.C. This style manual is the ultimate authority in matters of style for *The Wilson Bulletin*. Much of the book is devoted to "helpful hints" in the preparation of MSS for publication, and prospective authors of papers to be submitted to *The Bulletin* will find that consultation of the Manual will make life smoother for both them and the editor during the process of conversion of a MS to a published paper.

FROM THE A.O.U.

At the annual meeting of the A.O.U. at Grand Forks, North Dakota on 14 August the following officers were elected.

President: Joseph J. Hickey

First Vice-President: George A. Bartholemew, Jr. Second Vice-President: H. B. Tordoff

Secretary: Richard C. Banks Treasurer: Burt L. Monroe, Jr. Editor: Oliver L. Austin, Jr.

The Brewster Medal was awarded to Barbara and David Snow for their studies on Neotropical birds. The newly established Elliott Coues Awards went to Alexander Wetmore and Niko Tinbergen.

Robert S. Arbib, Jr. has been awarded the John Burroughs Medal for excellence in nature writing for his recent book, "The Lord's Woods".

We report with regret the death on 26 May 1972 of Arlie William Schorger, Professor Emeritus of Wildlife Ecology at the University of Wisconsin, and a former Elective Member of the Council of the Wilson Ornithological Society, in his 87th year.

The Membership List of the Society is included as a separate supplement to this issue. Members should report any errors of omission or commission directly to the Treasurer. Extra copies may be purchased from the Treasurer.